An Eye Injury Lawyer Talks About Statutes of Limitations and Eye Injury Claims

April 20th, 2022 by admin Leave a reply »

Time’s up!!

When it comes to suing for eye injuries, there’s no time like the present.

The lawsuit must be filed before the expiration of the Statute of Limitations deadline. Statutes of Limitations deadlines for eye injuries vary from state to state and from case to case. Generally, minors have two years from their 18th birthday to sue.

Different Statutes of Limitations deadlines apply to other kinds of injury cases. For example, in medical malpractice cases, in most states, you have a set number of years from the date you first discovered or should have discovered the malpractice to file the lawsuit.

Alabama Code of Alabama Section 6-2-38 2 years

Alaska Alaska Statutes Section 09 10.070 2 years

Arizona Arizona Revised Statutes Section 12-542 2 years

California 1 year for accidents before January 1, 2003 1 year

2 years for accidents after January 1, 2003. 2 year

If the statute of limitations on a claim has not run before the amendment, on 1/1/03, then it is a 2-year statute, so accidents in 2002 can benefit from the 2 year statute of limitations. Calif. Civ. Procedure code Section 335.1 na

Colorado Colorado Revised Statutes Section 13-80-102 2 years

Connecticut Connecticut General Statutes Section 52-584 2 years

D.C. District of Columbia Code Section 12-301 3 years

Delaware Delaware Code Annotated cc 8107, 8119 2 years

Florida Florida Statutes Section 95.11 4 years

Georgia Georgia Code Ann. Section 3-1004 2 years

Hawaii Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 657-7 2 years

Idaho Idaho Code Section 5-219 2 years

Illinois Illinois Statutes Ann. Section 13-202 2 years

Indiana Indiana Code Ann. Section 34-1-2-2 2 years

Iowa Iowa Code Annotated Section 614.1 2 years

Kansas Kansas Statutes Annotated Section 60.513 2 year

Louisiana Louisiana Civil Code Section 3492 1 years

Maine Maine Revised Statutes Ann. Section 752 6 years

Maryland Maryland Courts and Judicial Proceedings Code, 3 years

Massachusetts Massachusetts General Laws Ann. Ch. 260, 3 years

Michigan Michigan Compiled Laws Section 600.5805S 3 years

Mississippi Mississippi Code Annotated Section 15-1-49 3 years

Missouri Missouri Statute Annotated 35 Section 516.120 5 years

Montana Montana Code Annotated Section 27-2-204, 27-2-207 3 years

Nebraska Revised Statutes of Nebraska Section 25-208 4 years

Nevada Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated Section 11.190 2 years

New Mexico New Mexico Statutes Ann. Section 37-1-8 3 years

New York NEW YORK CIV. PRAC.R. Section 214 3 years

North Dakota North Dakota Century Code Section 28-01-16 6 years

Ohio Ohio Rev. Code Ann. Section 2305.10 2 years

Oklahoma Oklahoma Statutes Annotated Title 12 Section 95 2 years

Oregon Oregon Revised Statutes Section 12.110 2 years

Pennsylvania 42 PA Con. Stat. Annotated Section 5524 2 years

Rhode Island General Laws of Rhode Island Section 9-1-14 3 years

South Carolina South Carolina Code Ann. Section 15-3-530 3 years

South Dakota South Dakota Comp. Laws Ann. 3 years

Tennessee Tennessee Code Annotated Section 28-3-104 1 year

Texas Texas Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Ann. 2 Section 16.003 2 years

Utah Utah Code Annotated Section 78-12-25 4 years

Vermont Vermont Statutes Ann. Title 12, Section 512 3 years

Virginia Virginia code Section 8.01-243 2 years

Washington Revised Code of Washington Ann.Section 4.16.020 3 years

West Virginia West Virginia Code Section 55-2-12 2 years

Wisconsin Wisconsin Statutes Annotated Section 893.54 3 years

Wyoming Wyoming Statutes Annotated Section 1-3-105 4 years


Comments are closed.